RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Transmission Drain/Fill good enough?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-13, 05:37 AM
lexrally
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Drain/Fill good enough?

Hi Forum, you have given so much good advice on maintaining this classic car, as a novice mechanic, someone like me certainly benefits. I have a question on the transmission fluid change, maybe there is no definitive answer.

Mine is an 02, FWD, 95K mi, and in pretty decent shape. The transmission is holding up pretty well, maybe because I do a drain/fille every 15k miles.

My question is, since all I have ever done was a drain/fill, will there come a time when I have to drop the pan, clean it, and change the filter?

We will be going on a long cross-country trip this year. I was going to do the normal drain/fill this spring, but wondering if I should do the filter replacement as well. I am a novice, with little tools, my biggest concern is not getting the pan on right with the gasket or not putting the filter on correctly, or something else that could go wrong, and I end up making matter's worse.

When I change the fluid, it always looks good (slightly darker than fresh fluid). But not silvery.

Might it be better for me to do a drain/fill several times instead to get most of the old fluid out? Could I avoid the filter change if I keep up a good drain/fill regimen?

Thanks !
Old 02-04-13, 07:23 AM
Baetke
Pole Position

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

lexrally,