RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Engine Noise//Oil Treatment

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-03, 06:33 PM
Oivey2000
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Engine Noise//Oil Treatment

Wondering if anyone has experienced this. I just purchased a 2003 Lexus RX300. I notice a constant, rapid "ticking" or "clicking" sound coming from the engine. It sounds like valves, or possible injector noise. It's more prevalent when the engine/weather is cold, and you hear it mostly at idle. It smoothes out quite a bit when the engine is warm, but is still there in addition to the normal engine idle. Anyone experience this before? Does it sound like something I should be concerned with, or just the way this engine is designed?

Also, I'm considering switching to Mobil 1 synthetic oil at my first oil change and keeping up with it. I've never used synthetic before, but I have used Slick 50 in all of my other cars. Is it not necessary to treat the engine with such a "one-time" oil treatment as long as I plan on sticking with synthetic for the life of the vehicle? If using an one-time oil treatment would still be beneficial, even if I use synthetic, is Slick 50 good....or are there better treatments that anyone would recommend? I'm just not sure if using synthetic would eliminate the need to use an oil treatment.

And is there a difference between "Mobil 1 with Synchron" and "Mobil 1 Tri-Synthetic" and, if so, which one would you recommend?

Replies Appreciated!
Old 03-14-03, 05:30 AM
ederny
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Oivey,

The clicking noise at idle is from the injectors. Do a search on "injector noise" and you will come up with lots of discussion on the subject. I've heard it in my '99 and all RXs seem to product the noise at one time or another. Bottom line is "not a problem"