RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Introduction

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-21, 11:49 AM
CSwain
8th Gear

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Introduction

Hello,
I just wanted to say hello, and thanks!
I've mostly been lurking, but I've learned a lot from this forum.

We picked up a 2003 RX300 from my neighbor for my daughter a couple of years ago.
It needed struts, and tires, and A/C actuators, all of which I studied up on here first.
It took me forever to figure out the A/C drain was clogged causing the floor to get wet (I kept thinking sunroof drains).
But it turned out to be a really great car.
In fact, we were rarely driving due to lock downs and working/schooling from home, and it turned out to be everyone's go to for running errands around town and short trips.
So much so that when she left for school and took it with her this fall, my wife wanted another one.

I made the mistake of telling her not to worry about mileage as long as the paint and interior were good, and sure enough she found one that looked pretty good with 235,000 miles on it :-).
But the price wasn't too bad for this market and it didn't seem to have any violent history, so away we went.
I've already done the timing belt, water pump, cam and crank seals, spark plugs, and a power steering flush.
For what it's worth the belt and pump looked great for having close to 145,000 miles on them. The plugs not so much, but it did still run smooth.
The previous owner clearly had a dog, but after a deep clean of the interior, it's not as obvious :-).
The A/C responded well to actuator cleaning and a new filter.
I also added a USA Spec Bluetooth adapter as I had in my daughter's car.
Next up is new KYB's all around, fresh brakes, a tranny flush, and a couple more rounds of leather conditioner, but so far so good.