RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Considering a 2004 RX330

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-07, 05:42 AM
jbrooksga
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering a 2004 RX330

Typical newbie here.....

We are shopping for an 04 330 and drove 3 different ones yesterday. Two of them had AWD, and they seemed to just generally drive better than the FWD.

The best one was AWD with 50k. It is VERY clean with absolutely no dings or scratches. My wife wants the heated seats, but I'm not sure if AWD is really necessary since we live in the Southeastern US. Apparently the heated seats only come on the AWD models. I understand that we are giving up some MPG for that as well.

Not only was it very clean, it had the most solid handling of the ones we tested. The overall feel of the chassis just felt more solid as far as steering response. It has some moisture inside the drivers side headlight, which is the only problem I could report. Seems like that has been a common problem with others as well.

It is being sold by a dealer who specializes in Lexus pre-owned. They acquired it at an auction, and the vehicle previously had one owner in the state of New York. That somewhat bothers me due to the potential of rust from winter driving. That said, the vehicle appears to be in great condition. Carfax records look fine, as some of the service data is available. We would be paying $27,500 for it.

Since it is over 50k, the warranty has expired. Should we consider getting an extended warranty from Lexus if that is even possible?

Any other things we might should investigate before making a purchase would be appreciated.
Old 06-17-07, 09:51 AM
mandyfig

Received 416 Likes on 366 Posts

Extended warranty helps. Get it from the dealer, but normally it has to be within the warranty period to avail of the extended one, not sure. Or else you can get from other sources.
Old 06-18-07, 07:42 AM
The G Man