RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Multiple battery systems

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-13, 07:31 PM
ixmoylan
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Lightbulb Multiple battery systems

Hello folks,
I don't have any specific problem or issue (but I am sure they will come up lol.) Just wanted to get people's opinions and comments before I start this project. I have a decent subscriber base on YouTube & am happy to include anyone's name and URL / link who wants to help out. (Going to make a short vid of this install.)

I want to set up a multiple battery system in my 2007 RX 350. It will be primarily to power a trailer and the electronics inside it. (Computers, cameras, chargers, ect.) I was also thinking of adding a small fridge, however all the portable ones are in the $600 range? Don't understand why. I have a little office fridge I got for 75 bucks and it works perfect, but perhaps there's something about keeping the compressor stable / immobilized that adds the extra cost. Or maybe it's something to do with slowly starting the compressor motor..

Anyway. I have all Optima yellow top batteries. I have got a D35 starter battery already installed, and two D25/D75 batteries loose. Going to hook up a Battery Isolator and then finally tandem inverters.

So, I guess to get the project started, I need to run a cable from the starter battery's hot terminal (+). There is existing wiring for the trailer's lighting & power, but I think the wiring is not sufficient gauge to carry the load my I need it to. I checked up on my vehicle’s capabilities, being that this version has the “towing package” and I’m never going to be hauling anything really heavy (Except maybe a LED Disco ball for parties!!) I should be fine on the weight.