RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Steering column quick “hack”

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-20, 03:01 PM
CarComp
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Steering column quick “hack”

I love the motorized steering column, but I don’t really like how it moves when the key is put in. I also don’t like how it stays “down” in park, making a quick exit and re-entry a pain in the butt. I found a quick “hack” that changes the dynamic of the automatic wheel, stopping it from moving and as a side effect, easing vehicle exit. The drawback is you lose your second driver customization, but I’m a one driver owner for the most part.

Steps for the “hack”

1) Get the seat and steering wheel where you want them for normal driving.
2) Set this as setting “1” on the door.
3) Now, just move the steering whee to its upmost and farthest inward position.
4) Set this as setting “2” on the door.

Now, whenever you need to get out, just tap the “2” button before you do. The steering wheel will be out of the way, and as a bonus it won’t move outward when you put the key in. When you are ready, just press the “1” button. It takes about a day to get used to doing it, but it completely changes how the steering wheel operates!
The following users liked this post:
matts6887 (05-29-20)
Old 05-28-20, 05:58 PM
Lexuswiz
Instructor

Received 182 Likes on 169 Posts

I need to get into the car again with techstream but I swear there is a customization option to retract the steering column upon exit, my RX does it since I got it but I coded it off on my NX. Not sure if your RX is the base, premium package, or hybrid as this maybe a factor.
Old 05-28-20, 06:13 PM
CarComp
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Lexuswiz