RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Struts and strut mounts or just struts?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-22, 02:47 PM
DMPesso
Pole Position

Received 179 Likes on 150 Posts
Default Struts and strut mounts or just struts?

Thinking about replacing the struts on my 06 330 AWD with 121k. Some cars I’ve replaced strut mounts and the old ones looked completely fine so just wondering how the rx mounts are. Did anyone change just the struts? I did front and rear struts and only front mounts in my GS and the old ones seemed fine. Rather not waste money if I don’t have to.
Old 02-22-22, 05:13 PM
iMSQ
Instructor

Received 220 Likes on 187 Posts

If you are going to install OEM mounts - do it, otherwise - don't (if your current mounts are OK).
Old 02-22-22, 05:40 PM
mjlife
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I'm new to CL and I have a 2006 sc430. I wanted to know how much of a difference when replacing old lexis shocks with oem. Are they noticeably tighter/stiffer? Or, are coilovers a better purchase for a smooth ride?
Old 02-22-22, 05:43 PM
mjlife
Driver School Candidate

Hello, I'm new to club lexus and noticed you were talking about replacing old shocks with OEM shocks. I have a 2006 sc430 with 130000 miles and I'm looking at new shocks or coilovers. Do new oem shocks feel that much different from the worn shocks? are they worth the money and are they noticeably stiffer than the old shocks?

Thanks,
Old 02-22-22, 06:22 PM
DMPesso
Pole Position

Originally Posted by mjlife
Hello, I'm new to club lexus and noticed you were talking about replacing old shocks with OEM shocks. I have a 2006 sc430 with 130000 miles and I'm looking at new shocks or coilovers. Do new oem shocks feel that much different from the worn shocks? are they worth the money and are they noticeably stiffer than the old shocks?

Thanks,