RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Engine overheating and misfire cylinder 5

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-22 | 02:34 AM
Rx3502009
4th Gear

Default Engine overheating and misfire cylinder 5

Hi everyone ! Please i need your opinion
i just a bought a Rx350 2009 with 250.000 miles in a dealership. It very beautiful outside and inside but a lot miles and the problem is it started overheating since the day 1 , it gives misfire cylinder 5 all the time . So as an amateur i think i got scammed and fooIed by this dealership . i changed thermostat , coolant sensor , radiator cap , flushed radiator 3 times, still overheats and loses water for few days like 1 liter in 3-4 days and no leaking . I read in this forum about head gasket ,which i didnt know what it was . So now i suspect about head gasket blown or leak .
What do you think i should do ?
-try to use the head gasket sealer repair
-replace complete engine and keep it
-or get rid of this car as soon as possible

lets suppose the head gasket sealer works , does the misfire cylinder start working by its self then, i mean does the coil and spark plug gets dry and start working again or still i do have to change the coils and spar plugs.

Many thanks in advance !
Old 11-09-22 | 05:12 AM
Mesquite77
Advanced

Diagnose time. It can take up to 3 or 4 drives to get the coolant properly settled and at a stable level (air removal), so make sure that is not the situation, since after replacing coolant items it needs multiple runs.

1) The actual coolant pump may be shot, but it usually make a racket first.
2) For misfire, pull the plugs and coils on #5 and #6, take a pic, and if they look good, swap these 2, clear the codes and see if misfire stays on 5. Bad luck, #5 is gonna be a bear to get at, search this forum for spark plug DIY change.

Cylinder numbering:

firewall
belt side 1 3 5 tranny
2 4 6

The following users liked this post:
Rx3502009 (11-09-22)