RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Oil drain screw looks different

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-23, 01:12 PM
xpro
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Oil drain screw looks different

It's my first time doing an oil change since I purchased the car used. I went under the car and noticed the oil drain plug looks different. Not sure if the drain plug was stripped when the last owner had it or what. I attached the pics. Any idea what kind of screw this is? Any recommendations on how I should proceed?

Old 06-03-23, 01:36 PM
Clutchless

Received 1,160 Likes on 990 Posts

I have never seen anything like that. I suspect they stripped the threads and stuck that in. It does state hand tighten only on the handle. I would not trust that to work if you unscrewed it, you may be screwed if you try to change your own oil this time.
If it was my vehicle I would find a reputable independent shop that would be able to tap new threads and install a real replacement bolt.
Any really good repair shop can take care of this repair.

If you need help finding a repair shop start with this searchable link to shops recommended by listeners of the NPR radio show Car Talk. Then cross check on Google or Yelp any shops you are interested in as some reviews are old. https://www.cartalk.com/mechanics-files
The following users liked this post:
carguy75 (06-03-23)
Old 06-03-23, 02:30 PM
xpro
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by Clutchless
I have never seen anything like that. I suspect they stripped the threads and stuck that in. It does state hand tighten only on the handle. I would not trust that to work if you unscrewed it, you may be screwed if you try to change your own oil this time.
If it was my vehicle I would find a reputable independent shop that would be able to tap new threads and install a real replacement bolt.
Any really good repair shop can take care of this repair.