RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Sunroof Drain Line Clearing Tool

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-23, 08:44 AM
RX in NC
Racer

Received 410 Likes on 327 Posts
Default Sunroof Drain Line Clearing Tool

A couple of weeks ago I ordered a "Flexible Auto Car Drain Hole Dredge Cleaning Scrub Tool Brush QBW3" from walmart.com. $6.09 with free shipping. It arrived in yesterday's mail and this morning I used it to ream out the sunroof drain lines in my wife's 2015 RX350 as well as in my 2013 Outback 3.6R.

I did not have great expectations for this tool but it really surprised me. It is significantly more robust than the 5-foot section of thin-gauge twisted-wire cable I have been using for several years, and I was able to get its full 5-foot length down into each drain line. It has nylon bristles on its business end which help to dislodge any debris stuck down in the lines. You do not want to reduce its effectiveness by kinking it, so work it slowly back and forth while pushing it down into each drain line.

I will hang it on a nail in my garage to store it at its full length to keep it from getting kinked.
The following 2 users liked this post by RX in NC:
Clutchless (10-11-23), Yahmei (10-11-23)
Old 10-11-23, 03:21 PM
Clutchless

Received 1,160 Likes on 990 Posts

I bought the Amazon that I linked in another thread. I tested it on my brother-in-law's ancient Honda Accord as a shop claimed to have recently cleaned out his sunroof drains as he parks on the street under trees and it was not clogged, but close to it. It appears that they did. The brush at the end of the coiled springy wire fit the sunroof drain and was not that difficult to push through and back out again, although it needed some pulling to get it started back up again. This one appears to prefer being coiled for storage.
Old 10-12-23, 04:09 AM
Abrar
Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by RX in NC