RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Rudeness Towards RX350 Drivers

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-10, 08:42 AM
ChitChat
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rudeness Towards RX350 Drivers

OK, so this is my first luxury car and my first SUV. I've noticed that in the past few months of driving my new RX, I've experienced a lot less driver courtesy on the road and feel it may be due to the stigma against SUV's hogging the road, etc. plus the jealousy of others from me driving an expensive car.

I'm in no way a show-off type of person and I feel I'm a good driver. However, I notice a lot of times people will not let me merge into traffic when necessary, I feel like a lot of people are driving over the lines in the road and driving very close to me and to top it off somebody just punched my car as I was driving very slowly through a parking lot. He said I almost ran over his girlfriend (yeah, right).

Just wondering if others have felt like a target due to jealousy or reputations of drivers of this type of vehicle for no reason.
Old 06-01-10, 09:01 AM
jtrue28
Lead Lap

Received 214 Likes on 146 Posts

did he punch your window, or an actual painted panel? if he caused damage, I'd call the cops and report it.
Old 06-01-10, 10:08 AM
mkimball
Driver School Candidate

You could be on to something there. I have not had any of this happen with my RX, but my husband got some bad treatment when he had his BMW.
Old 06-01-10, 10:12 AM
MEP7557
Lexus Test Driver

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I think there is a ring of truth in what you say. I have noticed some changes.
Old 06-01-10, 10:26 AM
jtrue28
Lead Lap

a lot of time the hostility is toward "new" cars. I hate having that temporary tag on a new car because I'm just asking for "attention".
Old 06-01-10, 10:39 AM
kitlz
No, I don't play soccer!

Received 172 Likes on 146 Posts