RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Check your oil

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-12, 06:19 PM
mac12
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Check your oil

The wife and I are going on a thousand mile trip this weekend, so I got the 2010 RX cleaned up and ready to go. I decided that I probably needed to check the fluid levels and "Great Scott". The oil level didn't even touch the bottom of the dip stick. I went and purchased a quart of the Mobil 1 0w-20 and added it to bring the level to about a quarter inch on the stick, so off I go to get another quart. That put the level just above the low mark. The RX has about 6k on it since I got the 10k free oil change. Now my question is did the service folks fail to put the proper amount of oil in it at the 10k service or has it used two quarts since then? I've been driving Toyota products for about twenty years and I've never had one use oil. I realize that I should have checked the oil before now, so don't beat me up too badly over that. From now on I will check the oil level before I ever leave a dealership after a service. What should I do now? Watch it and continue driving until it's ready for service at 20k or take it to Lexus and have it serviced now and let them know it was two quarts low at 6k after last service? Thanks all.
Old 04-17-12, 06:45 PM
JimH2
Intermediate

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I would call the dealer to put on record what you found. The distance between the minimum and full mark on the dipstick is 1.6 quarts. You are actually off by around 3 quarts out of the 6.4 quarts it takes with a filter change. Are you sure your filter (gasket) and/or drain plug are not leaking oil ?
Old 04-17-12, 07:12 PM
Cruiter
Pole Position

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts