RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Stow Tonneau/luggage cover?

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-14, 12:29 PM
aem8612
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Stow Tonneau/luggage cover?

Newbie here. Just bought 2014 RX 350. Acct mother-in-law uses walker and we transport it in the cargo space, don't want Tonneau luggage cover in place in the cargo area (on its rack) as it consumes too much room. Any ideas on how to store it? It doesn't appear that there's a dedicated space for it inside the vehicle. However, would like to keep it in the vehicle if feasible. I'm thinking I'll want to buy a "long sleeve" into which to store it in the cargo area; the sleeve in order to keep it free from scratches. However, any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Old 03-01-14, 01:22 PM
corradoMR2
The pursuit of F

Received 296 Likes on 215 Posts

Unfortunately, underfloor storage is one feature we miss in the 3rd Gen RX compared to the 2nd Gen.

However, I just thought of a possible spot. I will check when wifey returns soon with the RX. Fingers crossed since I just have it stashed in my garage.
Old 03-01-14, 02:52 PM
corradoMR2
The pursuit of F

Received 296 Likes on 215 Posts

^^^ Well it unfortunately doesn't fit by about 2 inches in length beneath the carpeting behind the rear seats.
Attached Thumbnails Stow Tonneau/luggage cover?-rxcover.jpg  
Old 03-01-14, 03:06 PM
ggebhardt
Pole Position

Received 503 Likes on 380 Posts

I removed the luggage cover the first day with no regrets. My windows are tinted and I also keep a blanket in the back to cover things from prying eyes. The cover just gets in the way for me. I understand you wanting to keep it but it does re-install quickly if you decide to remove it.
Old 03-01-14, 06:33 PM
aem8612
Driver School Candidate