RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

L/Certified 2015 RX350 with cracked and bent motorized mirror

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-18, 07:17 PM
gyusung
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default L/Certified 2015 RX350 with cracked and bent motorized mirror

Hi guys. I am a newbie who has just purchased my first Lexus 2 weeks ago. I bought a 2015 RX350 at a Lexus dealer. I found that the driver side mirror has cracks both at the upper and lower housing. When it got folded, the mirror touches the side window trip because it was bent. The mirror must have been hit by something really hard. The locations of those cracks were not easy to find, so I could not notice them when I purchased the car. I am wondering how this mirror could pass the certification which includes appearance restoration standards? The dealer where I had purchased the car told me that it was my fault for not noticing the problem. The mirror is working well mechanically and electrically at this moment; however, I am concerning whether water may go into the housing through the cracks and cause damages to the mirror unit.

After the purchase, I requested the dealer to send me the complete Lexus service history. There was an item in the history stating that a new mirror assembly was needed. Because the repair was not done, I did not see it from the CarFax repair history. The dealer said that the mirror passed the certification standards. I am wondering how this mirror could pass the certification which includes appearance restoration standards.

If I bring this to the Lexus Customer Satisfaction Department, can they do something for me? Or should I forget about it?

Any suggestions on what I can do? Thanks for your help.

Last edited by gyusung; 05-30-18 at 07:28 PM. Reason: To provide details
Old 05-31-18, 06:02 AM
salimshah

Received 1,072 Likes on 965 Posts

I think you have made the first round with the sales person.