RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Driver exterior door handle removal

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-21, 06:57 PM
Madcar
Rookie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Driver exterior door handle removal

I pulled the door handle of the drivers door today and into problems when I tried to reinstall it.
The handle is easy to remove (online tutorial helped) but the video didn't show him reinstalling.
That's where my trouble started - in my case, it is not working out.
I've been working on cars for 30 years and cannot figure out what the problem is in getting the handle back on.
It should go back in the way it came out but I can't get the handle to move far enough forward for the catch to engage.
The handle needs to be pushed towards the front of the car in order for it to seat properly - but that is harder than it should be.
I can't get it to move forward far enough - and that means the handle mech that releases the door latch, will not engage.

Anyway, I've been at it for several hours and can't get it to seat properly - if anyone has taken the handle off and reinstalled, I'd appreciate any tips.
I've searched and can't find any info on the forum that talked about this problem
Thanks

Last edited by Madcar; 03-20-21 at 10:20 PM.
Old 03-21-21, 06:40 AM
Clutchless
Forum Moderator

Received 1,203 Likes on 1,029 Posts

You probably have already viewed the youtube videos on how to take your outside door handle off. It appears your problem is they don't show how to install it. I would search again under Toyota Highlander as it is probably almost the same as the RX.
You may have to remove the interior trim panel to access the rods etc that connect to the handle.
Old 03-21-21, 07:12 AM
Madcar
Rookie

Thanks for the reply - yes, I've seen the video on how to remove. Not the exact handle because mine has the electronics for the unlock sensor - but close enough. Unfortunately, there is nothing on installing.