RX - 4th Gen (2016-2022) Discussion topics related to the 2016 and up RX350 and RX450h models

2016 RX 350 Excessive noise and vibration

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-23, 08:53 AM
flyboyo2
7th Gear

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RX 350 droning

If you accelerate slowly from a stop watch your tach, the 8 speed transmission up shifts to soon and the revs drop drastically. I've found that choosing the Normal or Sport mode helps alleviate this. Also a more aggressive application of the accelerator helps.
I'm no auto expert but these steps have reduced the annoying droning and poor performance for me.
The following users liked this post:
jcg0324 (10-01-23)
Old 10-02-23, 06:11 AM
autotech13
Advanced

Received 198 Likes on 149 Posts

Originally Posted by GoldenYear
I am new to Lexus & I noticed the droning/vibration in the steering wheel when I picked up my used certified 2021 RX350 base model. I turned off all the lane assist & still feel it sometimes but dealer said everything is fine. I test drove a new 2023 RX from a different dealer for 15 minutes and no droning/vibration . Don't know what to do?..
The 2023 has a very different engine (4 cyl. turbo) than your 2021's 3.5 V6.
Old 10-02-23, 06:48 AM
mikemu30
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2,510 Likes on 1,793 Posts

Originally Posted by autotech13
The 2023 has a very different engine (4 cyl. turbo) than your 2021's 3.5 V6.
I'll live with the drone long before I'll drive an RX with a 4 cyl engine.
The following 3 users liked this post by mikemu30:
autotech13 (12-18-23), J123rx350 (10-02-23), ravenuer (10-02-23)
Old 10-19-23, 03:17 AM
OReliable
Rookie

Received 24 Likes on 15 Posts

Going to try this fix this weekend. Wish me luck!
I am wondering if the flex joint is just too tight in the first place?

Originally Posted by RealWing