RX - 4th Gen (2016-2022) Discussion topics related to the 2016 and up RX350 and RX450h models

Replacing wiper blades?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-16 | 07:34 PM
domnf15
Driver School Candidate

Default Replacing wiper blades?

I know this question is just one level less stupid than "how do I change my headlight fluid", but how do you change the wiper insert/blades on the '16 RX350? They seem to be a different style than the Toyota/Lexus blades I'm used to (i.e. on my '06 IS250 and '12 Highlander). Also, you can't actually lift the front ones off the windshield and leave them up, they would hit the hood. Usually lifting the blades off the windshield is step one in my exterior detailing routine. The rear one can't even be seen without kneeling and looking up towards the rear spoiler.

Popular Reply

03-01-21, 11:10 PM
ViktorG
Driver

Default 2016+ RX350 wiper refill replacement instructions

Hi guys, I am a Lexus Master Tech and I am working on a series of maintenance and repair videos that will cover the latest gen RX350.
Here is my fist video on how to replace the wiper refills.
Please hit me up with ideas/suggestions on what other stuff you would like to see in the future.
Thanks!

Old 09-17-16 | 01:51 AM
dchar
Lexus Champion

I'm not sure how to change the blades, but to lift them off you need to put them into the service/winter mode. Manually push them up until they click into the service/winter position.
Old 09-17-16 | 03:44 AM
kitlz
No, I don't play soccer!

I like to lift and clean the wiper blades when doing a wash. Now it takes an extra step. Within 30 seconds of turning off the RX, move the wiper stalk to the mist position. The wiper blades come out and sit vertically on the windshield. Then they can be safely lifted up. To get to the rear wiper with the RX on, turn the rear wiper on but turn off the RX before it moves back under the spoiler. That I don't mind as much since it's protected from the elements. New RX, new routines.
Old 09-19-16 | 05:07 PM