RX - 4th Gen (2016-2022) Discussion topics related to the 2016 and up RX350 and RX450h models

Screen not working - Help Please!

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-20, 09:04 AM
rs2016
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Screen not working - Help Please!

My battery died & I changed it, and suddenly the Navigation screen does not work. When you start the car, the Lexus logo shows up normally on the screen and the back up camera works. However, the navigation, bluetooth, radio, etc do not work at all. The screen is just black. It all worked perfectly prior to the battery change.
I brought it in to 2 different Lexus dealers and they both said I need a new screen because the battery change may have "shorted" the navigation system. I am an engineer and this makes no sense to me. I really think it is a computer issue, but I can't get it to work. I have checked all the fuses and tried unplugging the battery & restarting the car several times. This absolutely ridiculous in my opinion, and enough reason that I would NEVER buy another Lexus again. They have absolutely no customer service since my warranty just expired.
I have looked this up here & other websites online. I have tried all the suggested fixes to no avail.
Anyone with any suggestions? Do you really think the navigation is "shorted" as they say?

Last edited by rs2016; 01-14-20 at 09:10 AM.
Old 01-14-20, 09:17 AM
ravenuer
Racer

Received 496 Likes on 374 Posts

As long as the battery was disconnected properly, I don't see damaging the screen. However, when the battery died, did you have the car jumped first?
Old 01-14-20, 09:21 AM
rs2016
Driver School Candidate

Nope, the battery was not jumped. It was all disconnect & reconnected properly.
The screen itself appears to be working, but the entire computer system won't boot up to work....
Old 01-14-20, 10:33 AM
Cocal
Racer

Received 343 Likes on 262 Posts

Originally Posted by rs2016