RX - 4th Gen (2016-2022) Discussion topics related to the 2016 and up RX350 and RX450h models

Useful Carplay Voice Commands (Waze)

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-20 | 07:51 AM
blayze1983
Driver

Default Useful Carplay Voice Commands (Waze)

I'm totally new to carplay and trying to get into the habit of using voice commands to be safe, so pls bear with me if these questions are newbish.

I prefer waze over the built-in lexus navigation so I usually hold down the voice button to specifically activate Siri. When I say "Go to xyz address, Toronto Ontario" it always pulls up the standard apple maps app instead of Waze. So then I deleted apple maps hoping it would instead default to waze but instead it says cannot find maps. Is there a specific voice command or option to have it default to Waze whenever I ask for an address?

If you guys wouldn't mind sharing any other commonly used day-to-day voice commands that you find work smoothly I'd appreciate it. I generally just use maps for navigation, radio (for now) and soon I'll try to figure out Spotify.

Thanks!
Old 08-07-20 | 12:31 PM
Quantum501
Advanced

When I use Waze I open the App and then hit the microphone icon on the screen. Then I speak the address. I know that you are trying to avoid touchscreen and do all verbal, but this works for me and is only one button. I decided to not get navigation since Google Maps and Waze are so good and easy to use. Plus they keep everything updated. I absolutely love CarPlay and the touchscreen in my 2020....that is why I waited until Lexus added CP with touchscreen. Otherwise I use Siri for other stuff but most of the time I do Audible since my daily commute is very long.
Old 08-07-20 | 09:14 PM
blayze1983
Driver

Originally Posted by Quantum501