RX - 5th Gen (2023-present) Discussion topics related to the 2023 and up RX models

Is it actually possible to ORDER a new RX the way you want it?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-23, 08:40 AM
SilverBell
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it actually possible to ORDER a new RX the way you want it?

This is my first visit to this website in probably over a decade, as I have been a Mercedes-Benz driver since 2012. I had several Lexus cars prior to then and I am now looking at possibly going for a new RX350.

Even in the most luxurious RX350 models, on their website, when you “Build” a new RX, Lexus shows that their Panoramic glass roof is OPTIONAL. My question is: Can you actually order a top line RX350 without the glass roof, or do they all come in with it automatically, no matter what? Thanks!
Old 06-04-23, 09:06 AM
Den49
Rookie

Received 21 Likes on 13 Posts

To answer the question posed by the title to your thread, NO. This is the most frustrating aspect of shopping for a Lexus and the primary, almost exclusive, reason why my last four car purchases have not been a Lexus. Even if you can build the specific Lexus you want on their website, there is no way to order it. You are at the mercy of Lexus' "Allocation" system.

Last edited by Den49; 06-04-23 at 03:58 PM.
The following 4 users liked this post by Den49:
dklanecky1 (06-06-23), Klamalama (06-05-23), ncRXhybrid (06-06-23), SilverBell (06-04-23)
Old 06-04-23, 09:38 AM
lexusnyca
Instructor

Received 406 Likes on 271 Posts

No. In fact depending on how precise you want to match your specs (color combination, etc), many combinations are very hard to get especially in the Luxury trim level. If you want a Premium or Premium+ and are flexible on color combinations and options, you will have a much easier time of it and can even get below MSRP on the gasoline 350. And the Toyota dealer allocation system is very unresponsive, when compared to BMW for example.