SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Oem radio wiring harness issue

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-24, 06:31 PM
CatsNCarry
7th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Oem radio wiring harness issue

Hello all, been a lurker for years and gathering information but this is my first post as I cannot seem to much any info on this subject.

As the title states, I am looking to see if there is any compatibility between 1st gen sc factory wiring harnesses for the radio/climate control?

When I purchased the car (1994 sc400) the PO said that the radio didn't work and I said that's no problem as I wanted to upgrade to a double Din anyways down the line. I've been cruising with no radio for a couple years with a Bluetooth speaker but I finally I decided to replace the radio and got the factory unit but to my dismay it looks like someone already attempted the job, failed, and put the factory radio back in.
I noticed a bunch of electrical tape and a couple wires caught my eye, specifically the amp ground wire which was severed and poorly reattached. The wires of the pigtail harnesses also seem to be wrapped around eachother in a big wad and taped, as well as more tape down near the console box where they all originate from.

Anyways I'm wondering if I should even bother trying to get it working myself since I have limited knowledge or if I should try to get an another whole unadulterated harness (product #82166-24082)? Does anyone know if a 93 or 95 harness will work as well? Anyone know if there is a difference between pioneer (what I have) and the nakamichi systems?

part # 82166-24082

Pic of brown wire without tape. Pink antenna wire severed from connector at base (my fault trying to get this horridly tough pos out) as well as the white with blue stripe.

Blue tape on brown wire (amp ground I believe)

Ebay find $40+ shipping. says it is out of a 93. Quite dirty but I'm sure it could be cleaned up with electronics cleaner and most importantly NO BLUE TAPE!