SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

SC owner who work on their cars

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-01 | 05:25 AM
VQT
Lexus Champion

Question

I am not a mechanic and don't know much about engine either but I perfer to do the maintenance on my car unless it is too difficult for me or I don't know how.
One is to save money, two is to learn more about my car, three it is a used car so there will be problems and I just can't afford to take it to the dealer or a garage every time.

What about you guy?
Old 02-28-01 | 06:51 AM
gadgetSC
Racer

Smile Maintenance

I have a 92 SC300 that I took to the dealer for service for the first 4 years of ownership.....and paid the price.
I bought the service manuals and took some time to read through them. I have had a few service manuals over the years and I have to say that these are the best that I have seen. If you have the right tools...you could save yourself some $$$. I know the price for the manuals is steep, but they could pay for themselves with your first repair.
Old 02-28-01 | 05:23 PM
FastSC300

Smile KEEP in MIND

it's just a Toyota...
Toyota keeps its pretty simple for being an import car, IMO....

Scot
Old 03-01-01 | 07:44 PM
Dad51

Default Valve Adjustment on SC 400

Has anyone done their own valve adjustment? Where did you buy the vavle adjustment tool? How much for the Factory Repair Manual?
Thanks for any advice
Dave
Old 03-02-01 | 05:31 AM
VQT
Lexus Champion

Default Factory Shop Mannual

I place an order in for the Mannual, you have to get it through the dealer (I don't know how to buy it from E-Bay) Cost at the dealer $160+ tax two volume. I takes three-four weeks for delivery.
Old 03-02-01 | 11:09 AM
mindflux
Pole Position

Default manuals and lexus DIY

I do all my repairs and maintanence schedules myself. I don't trust the local dealers to do the work.

So far I have basically pulled out the whole engine out.