SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Body Kit Install...help please!

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-06 | 11:37 AM
xxjad22xx
Rookie

Default Body Kit Install...help please!

I need a new front bumper for my sc4 so I had just planned on getting a JiC kit. I have searched the forums and people seem to never put the kit on themselves, they end up paying over $500 for installation. My question is this: why don't they just put the kit on themselves? How difficult is it to put a body kit on (no molding)?
Old 01-17-06 | 11:48 AM
mkorsu
Zombie Slayer

This is what happens when you don't know what you're doing when installing a body kit

Old 01-17-06 | 11:52 AM
xxjad22xx
Rookie

I don't get it, what's wrong with that car?

hahaha just kiddin. So you are saying it is impossible to install a body kit myself? I have no experience with this but isn't it just a bunch of bolts to screw in? I don't want to mold anything so I don't understand the big deal. Can someone just inform me on what makes the installation so difficult? thanks
Old 01-17-06 | 12:02 PM
Kohinoor
Lexus Test Driver

i dont see the big deal in taking one bumper off and putting another one on there.. its not rocket science
Old 01-17-06 | 12:11 PM
mkorsu
Zombie Slayer

No, it's definately possible to install your own body kit. But since it is something you have never done before you would need to be EXTRA careful and really take your time or it could come out looking like crap.

You also said "isn't it just a bunch of bolts to screw in?" and "I don't want to mold anything".

First, body kits tend to have fitment issues. Check the sticky at the top of the SC section and read up on you particular kit. No molding could mean poor fitment lines.

"Just bolting" on a bodykit would more than likely result in a Fart Canned Civic look. The SC is a refined luxury cruiser, treat it as such. The mismatched body panel and bolts sticking out the side look just don't compliment a Lexus.