SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Which SC for me??

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-06, 09:38 PM
93VR4nPA
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which SC for me??

Hello....I'm a newb here, and I have a few questions. I'm seriously thinking about parting ways with my BPU 3000GT VR4, and going with a "project" Lexus SC. I dearly love my current platform and all of the accolades and attention I receive when driving it, but frankly, it's just not a friendly platform to highly modify. They make little in the way of mass produced performance parts, and being an AWD platform, it has certain limitations. The AWHP to dollar ratio is just aburd, and to build my car to be a RELIABLE mid 11 sec Daily driver, is probably not worth my time and money. To modify a 6G72 motor the right way, to handle 19+ lbs of boost, would probably cost me in the range of $7k + with a 60k service, and That still doesn't solve the transfer case weakness. That kind of money won't even make a real fast VR4 .The parts needed are over priced, as this platform never had much of an aftermarket following. Can you say $2,400 for fabbed FMIC kit?

Anyways... What are your thoughts as my best course of action to build a moderately priced sleeper SC? I think I'd like to go with a decent sized single turbo set up. Am I better off going with the SC300 or trying to turbo the SC400 8CyL? I don't know a whole lot about Toyota engine options, and which engines came in which year cars, etc. I don't know which bottom ends are stout enough to handle boost for a while until I can rebuild it with forged parts, or which engine options have the biggest aftermarket parts following. (well, I know the Supra JZ motor has a large aftermarket) I'm basically just looking to build a very driveable sleeper, that will run mid 11's. I wouldn't think that should be terrbily hard to accomplish.