SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

LED Tail Lights Teaser

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-07, 07:46 PM
CleanCL
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LED Tail Lights Teaser

i've been putting this together for over 6 months doing a lot of testing and fitting. at this point i'm pretty set on this setup. this is going in 97+ tails and the cover is not on, so the red will be diffused a lot better.

Old 02-04-07, 07:49 PM
aliga
Former Sponsor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

looks good, cant wait to see the finished product.
Old 02-04-07, 07:51 PM
CleanCL
Lead Lap

yea, the only thing that wont be LEDs is the top running lights bc the LEDs just dont disperse as much light as some fat wedge bulbs. but i think it will blend nicely since the big lower portions that are LEDs arent on most of the time.

you can be the judge once its all put together since your the master of SCs. ;]
Old 02-04-07, 08:12 PM
ki_soarer
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

looks great jose! cant wait to see the end result.

p.s.: im still trying to get ahold of some bi-xenons at work. lol.
Old 02-04-07, 08:16 PM
O. L. T.
Keeper of the light

Received 350 Likes on 226 Posts

It has a cadillac feel to it.

Pain in the *** to build them, isn't it? I made ONE set..... and quit

Beware of heat on the tracers, the big led boards for the tails tend to overheat and melt tracers and solder at the final load point.

These were a huge pain. I never even finished the design, too much work involved.

This triangle tapering was supposed to be on the other side at the end, but I didn't have the other tail open when I took this pic. (pointing to the corner and tapering off).

Last edited by O. L. T.; 02-04-07 at 08:21 PM.
Old 02-04-07, 08:17 PM
Hil
Lexus Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

cool
Old 02-04-07, 08:19 PM
CleanCL
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by O. L. T.

haha tell me about it. i could probly do it in a week now. but like i said, i started this project over 6 months ago.
Old 02-04-07, 08:31 PM