SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Hello everyone, just a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-07 | 08:38 AM
wanted:SC
Driver School Candidate

Default Hello everyone, just a few questions

Hi everyone my name is chris Im 18, almost 19, freshman at the University of Minnesota Duluth but I'm from Woodbury, MN (just east of the twin cities). I am by no means new to the car scene, i just sold my 350awhp talon tsi(got sick of the TERRABLE reliability, one prob after another!) and my friend has a ~375awhp WRX that i have helped with on every step, but I am new to the lexus/toyota scene and will soon be in the market for a SC300 5 speed under $8,000, just incase someone who can help me there is reading. I have been reading around forums of all sorts of cars and lurking through CL and clubna-t for a couple months now trying to figure out what I want to replace my cursed DSM with and I think I have decided on a SC300 because of its rock solid toyota egineering and reliability and its ability to make gobs of power either with the stock engine or with a motor swap, not to mention they are one of the best looking cars for under $150,000 imo. But I have a few questions before i really commit to one of these amazing cars
(yes i searched).

1. I do live in MN so there is winter, and lots of it, can anyone say how well the RWD SC300 handle the snow, they are heavy mother ****ers so it shouldnt be TOO bad but any input would be nice.

2. Any of you the went NA-t or 1/2JZ (since i will be doing one of the two) if you had the chance would you go back and do the other or neither?

3.Im sure this has been said b4 but i couldnt find the a straight answer, for suspension/coilovers ect... is pretty much every part compatable with the supra, aftermarket and OEM?

4.If you could change any one thing about your SC2/400 what would it be, looking for your opinion of the worst parts about the SC platform

Thank you for any info any of you can give me. love the site its awsome!