SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Yet another Weight Reduction Topic

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-08, 11:56 AM
Brendon
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yet another Weight Reduction Topic

First off, hi everyone! I just registered here. I'm not a complete noobie to the Lexus club forums; I've been a member of the Lexus Owner's Club Forums for the last 2 years.

Well, for the last few months, I've been endlessly hunting ManBearPig (weight) on my SC400. Weight reduction is the universal mod, it improves acceleration, handling, braking, fuel efficiency. I would love to try and make my SC400 feel more nimble instead of a boat. The mods I'm looking at first are lightweight seats, lightweight rims, removing the sunroof, and carbon fiber panelling.

I've been seaching the forums here and on Lexus Club Owners to try and get some hard data, but there seems to be some far stretching estimates. I'm looking for some hard data on weight, not just people's random guestimates. How much do OEM seats w/ heat weigh? OEM rims weigh? Sunroof complete assembly? OEM hood, trunk, and doors?

So far the only steps I've taken are to remove the spare tire and the CD changer (I use an iPod). I've weighed both of them on my digital scale, so for anyone who's interested in the ACTUAL weight of those two:

16x7 Steel spare with 225/55R16 Goodyear GT+4 tire =
38.2 lbs

12-disc CD changer =
8.4 lbs
Old 03-27-08, 12:02 PM
romeo291
Lexus Test Driver

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Umm, I don't have any numbers, but I volunteer you to go out and weigh all the stuff in your car and post it for us to see. Maybe this will get some people interested, and they'll weigh things as they're taking them apart.
Old 03-27-08, 12:04 PM
Joey-E
Lead Lap

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I have also searched any came up with only a few threads about weight reduction. I like your idea of a lightweight Sc, this car is really, heavy. I think everyone here likes their luxury, boat.