SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Newb question sc400

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-08, 10:23 AM
Mpooyan83
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newb question sc400

so i just got a 92 sc400, for a pretty good deal i think, however i talked to a mechanic yesterday and he scared the heck outta me regarding how expensive these cars are to take care of. i really love the SCs, i had a sc300 for over a year and it had a load of issues so i sold it.
this one seems to be in great shape. it does seem like it is having some control arm issues now. but other then that it seems awesome.
my question is, since i dont wanna make any hasty disicions, is it really that expensive to take care of this car? should i sell if im a student with not alot of money and a wife. any tips and suggestion for a newb? thanks.
Old 04-02-08, 10:54 AM
powerjunky
Pole Position

they are well built, but are old and require tlc

im sure it run flawless for the 1st 10 years of its life, but yes it will cost to to keep it maintained..........my .02
Old 04-02-08, 12:05 PM
SClean4
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the parts are expensive because I've heard there's not as much demand for parts since they are such good cars and don't break down as much as other cars. i went to have my SC maintained and it costed me $1850 (it needed a lot of maintenance). Damn, that really woke me up. Stupid used car dealerships selling cars that need that kind of maintenance. I figured if I got a Lexus, I wouldn't have to make repairs, etc. and then I have to pay $1850 after I get it! The good part is that they don't break down much so you really don't have to worry about repairs all the time, just needs to be maintained every once in a while and keep everything working well.
Old 04-02-08, 01:31 PM
RolxuSC400
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts