Is the SC right?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-08, 12:20 PM
Mr. Burns
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Is the SC right?

Hi!

I'm new to the forums and have been browsing for a while as I plan on getting a Lexus SC300 from 1992-1993.

At 20 years of age, this is going to be my first car, which seeing as I'm a car buff, is quite a big deal for me. I must say I've fallen in love with the SC, I've always wanted a luxury coupe, and the SC is gorgeous. However because I'm a starving college student, practicality, economy and reliability are very important, and the SC does have quite a bit of competition on my list.

At this point the SC is purely an emotional consideration. My gut tells me to get an old Accord or Civic or something, but those cars are just appliances, my first car is important, it must be something emotional, sexy and fast.

The questions I have for you guys are: should I get an SC or would it be more of a headache than something like an Accord of the same year? How is the reliability and fuel economy of the SC300? Will insurance kill me? What is the highest acceptable mileage when purchasing a used one? Is maintenance/parts expensive? Are there major differences between the SC300 and SC400 when it comes to fuel economy and reliability?

And then there's the competition, I'm also somewhat in love with the Acura Legend Coupe and to a lesser extent the Nissan 300zx. Will any of those cars be better from a reliability/economy/insurance standpoint than the SC? I'm not too concerned with performance as it will be a daily driver and I do not plan on modding it or lowering it or buying new rims. I will be driving it no differently than I would a comparable sedan (i.e. ~speed limit, smooth acceleration, coasting etc...). I do not intend to race this car at lights with my friends' Preludes and Eclipses, but I do want a car that looks good next to the newer models of those cars.