SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

most cost effective way to get 375rwhp out of 92 SC300 w/ 4 speed A430E?

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-10, 09:30 PM
derekhale
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default most cost effective way to get 375rwhp out of 92 SC300 w/ 4 speed A430E?

So I have a 92 SC300 with 125k miles on it and wanted to go NA-T with a hp goal around 350-380. Car needs work but the engine and tranny are tip top. Looking at a kit from xspower since it is inexpensive and I have heard good reviews. Also want to keep the stock tranny but do the Raybestos IPT tranny build kit and Precision of N.H. torque converter performance upgrade as well as a L.S.D. of some kind.
I am very new to all this and I am doing a LOT of research before I start as I will be doing the work myself.
My question is what is the most cost effective way to get 375 hp reliably out of my SC300? this will be a d.d. and will not be abused on a regular basis. Top end power is not important and neither is 1/4 mile time.
Old 03-29-10, 03:53 AM
aka paco
Lexus Champion

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

low 300's with a trans cooler is all thats recommended on the stock trans, but who knows....

a cheap option to having a slightly better trans is getting a used 1jz trans, you need to take a few things from your a430e to plug it up, but the 1jz trans has more clutch packs.. so should hold a little more power, maybe 350-400ish?
Old 03-29-10, 09:06 AM
ishootstuf
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

XSpower is a good option. Scrap the oil feed and return lines that come with the kit and just run copper solid lines. As for the auto, you can make it hold your HP goal by shimming the accumulators and increasing line pressure which is almost free - just fluid, RTV, and some 1/2" pipe to cut for shims.
Old 03-29-10, 11:56 AM
turbodremz
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by ishootstuf