SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

2JZGE Na-T TT Ecu Mod

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-20, 09:24 AM
scsexy
Advanced

Received 76 Likes on 68 Posts

Originally Posted by ChicoAAA
Excuse me if I ask some weird questions, I am not a mechanic or not capable of doing the work myself, i want to do this but just want to be lead in the write direction before committing to someone to get the work done.
So if drop vvti gte, emissions won't be an issue as well?
The engine only has 83k
No... Being a 98 you cant do this mod and pass emissions. Also being a 98 your car has WEAKKKK pistons and rods.

To Pass emissions you need OBD2 to work on your 98 car. Your OBD2 wont work with a japanese ecu.

IF your car was 95 or older and OBD1 you could pass emissions with this mod just fine and your engine would be stronger.
The following 2 users liked this post by scsexy:
Ali SC3 (11-09-20), SCJim (10-17-20)
Old 11-08-20, 11:42 PM
tripas
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Ali I’m running the tt ecu thank you for all your help. I have an extra gte lower timing wheel, gte crank angle sensor, and I’m running a gte pump. I’m thinking of getting the golebys 2jzge distributor delete and trigger kit. If I wire the crank angle sensor and the golebys cam trigger sensor to the respected locations on the gte ecu, would it work as far as allowing me to run without the distributor completely or am I still missing a second cam angle sensor input to the ecu? Thanks !
Old 11-09-20, 10:49 AM
Ali SC3
Lexus Champion

Received 438 Likes on 368 Posts

Thanks Scsexy sometimes I think I gloss over the obvious parts, if you are vvti the only way you will pass emissions 100% of the time is to leave your vehicle completely stock, this mod will not help at all.

Tripas, the stock non vvti ecu is expecting 2 cam trigger sensors, tdc 1 and tdc6. I have not tried running it with only one cam sensor, so that is a good question.