SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Upgrading Exhaust system sc400 Help please!?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-10, 09:43 AM
snowfox444
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrading Exhaust system sc400 Help please!?

I am a newb when it comes to cars, I have friends who are mechanics who will help. I need to replace my cats so while I do this, I plan to upgrade the whole exhaust system one step at a time. I am looking to get a mean sound out of it (whether it will pass inspection or not is not my concern)

What I plan to do is leave out the resonator, and straight downpipe. I want to keep the dual exhaust and I want mufflers so it appears legal when I get pulled over

Please tell me in what order I would be able to do this where as I can not afford to upgrade it all at once.
Old 04-21-10, 09:58 AM
Dx3
Lexus Fanatic

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

I would suggest an "X" pipe straight back to your cats and then continue to your mufflers. As for order... I'd work on replacing your cats first (you can get hi-flo cats), then have an X pipe fabricated, then your piping made...

Jonny
Old 04-21-10, 10:11 AM
One HoT
Lexus Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I would go catless if you are not worried about inspection. I read somewhere that OEM cats are already high flow at high temperatures, not sure if I would bother with high flow cats.

Try to fabricate the exhaust with few bends as possible. Use an X pipe in the mid section as mentioned above, add mandrel bent pipes to sections where bending is needed. Go with stock 2.25 inch pipes if you are not going with forced induction. If you are stock motor and you go with larger diameter pipes, you will lose low end power.

IMO, exhaust gains are not noticeable and can be quiet pricey if you want it done correctly. I would save money and go with forced induction first time around. Definitely more bang for the buck as far as HP/dollar ratio is concerned.
Old 04-21-10, 10:23 AM
JohnEd
Lead Lap