SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Tips for SC/TSX Retrofit

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-10, 09:18 PM
greyBLITZ
Lead Lap

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Tips for SC/TSX Retrofit

This weekend I decided to do the retrofit. This is the first I have done, so I spent weeks scouring the forum for an in-depth DIY. Unfortunately, I only have bits and pieces from here and there so I want to fill this thread with what I haven't been able to find. I thought I knew a fair bit about the subject, but when it came to doing it, I was a complete newbie. This thread is aimed at that very audience.

Today I only had time to do it for the driver's side, but I will update more when I do the passenger's side next week and get photos at the same time.

For those more knowledgeable, please feel free to correct me, or add more information.

Why do a TSX retrofit into the SC? Even though it is my first time doing it, I would say that this is likely the easiest and safest retrofit to do. There is VERY minimal modification. The only thing you'll be modifying is the TSX projector, so you can revert back to factory just in case.

What supplies do I need? 2 TSX projectors, preferably from 2004-2005 which have the clear lenses for the sharpest cutoff. The 2006+ lenses are called fresnel, or ribbed which do not yield as sharp of a cutoff.
2 ballasts (I always thought you only needed one)
2 D2S bulbs. The ballasts should come with the 'pigtail' connector.
2 retrofit brackets. I highly recommend buying these as making them is difficult for the newbie, in my opinion. I got mine from LuxuryMods.
Other supplies: 2 relays, 2 inline fuse holders, soldering supplies, 6 bolts, 12 nuts. *I will get exact sizes next week*

Removing headlight: There's several tutorials for this so I give essentials only. There are 3 10mm fasteners. A bolt on top, and 2 nuts that can only be reached through the fender lining.