new sc400 owner

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-02, 10:05 AM
bkeros
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new sc400 owner

Hey all,

After two years of nagging, I finally got my cousin to sell me his very clean, mechanically sound, stone stock, 1992 SC400 a while ago. What a sweet car! As I am new to Lexus ownership, I was wondering the following:

1) What are the best "bang for the buck" mods? I am interested in getting some more horsies out of 'er, but not in sinking big $$$ to do so. Being realistic, I'm not looking to build a 350hp power wagon on a budget. Bear in mind that the car has 114K on it.

2) I have precious few records on the car, and suspect that the cam chain may have never been changed, nor the valves adjusted, etc. I plan on doing much of the 90K service myself, but I was wondering what I should expect to pay for the 90K service (assuming it includes cam chain replacement).

3) I only know of two dealers in the Detroit area...anyone have the scoop on either one?

Any other random facts, links, advice, etc. you can suggest would be great.

Thx. in advance!
Old 08-16-02, 10:19 AM
strongsail
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Congrats on your new SC and welcome!

The V8 has a timing belt, not a chain. Replacement interval is 90K - I got a quote from a dealer of ~$400 for replacement - good time to replace the water pump since it has to come off with the timing case cover - and while the cooling system is opened up, have the system flushed and change the thermostat. New serpentine belt at thesame time too - -

Be sure your power steering pump has no signs of leaks - it's a known issue - and the leaking fluid will ruin the alternator - the ps pump can be rebuilt including in&out labor for about $450, the cost of a new pump alone.
Old 08-16-02, 11:16 AM
bkeros
Driver School Candidate

Strong sail -