SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Questions about 95 sc400 I may purchase

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-15, 04:34 PM
Jecprorace
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about 95 sc400 I may purchase

I'm pretty new to the Lexus scene although I've been working on cars for years and work in a shop. I bought a 98 ES 300 a couple months ago and I'm very happy with it. I do want more power and rear wheel drive though. I found a 95 sc400 with 165k miles. I could get it for 1400$. It is rust free and the interior is pretty nice. When k looked at it I found a few problems. It needs a rack and pinion. The coolant overflow bottle had a ton of little bubbles. It needs tired and brakes. It makes a clunk when I hit the gas. I'm wondering if it's worth the money or should I just wait and get something nicer for a little more money. I thought I would ask here on the forum where some of you guys have more experience with these cars. The coolant has me a little suspicious. I'm wondering if it needs a head gasket. Thanks for your help
Old 11-04-15, 05:06 PM
Organized Garage Status
Former Sponsor

Received 54 Likes on 43 Posts

Welcome to the forums! Decades worth of great information are available here! To answer your question, any luxo car that's below $5k in value will end up being a money pit. Although these cars are bullet proof if proper maintenance are performed accordingly, unless you want to build it up I would find something more well taken care of and maintained. Good luck!
Old 11-04-15, 05:31 PM
eknine9
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Clunk when accelerating could be the differential bushings are shot.
Rack and pinion is relatively easy to replace, problems tend to arise if the bolts are seized.
Tires and brakes are basic, however you could consider upgrading the brakes to Supra TT or LS400 brakes which offer more stopping power than SC brakes.