Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

FLashing AC light cuts off after a few minutes 1994 300 SC

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-09, 08:11 AM
JLB1010
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FLashing AC light cuts off after a few minutes 1994 300 SC

Hello, I just got the 94 300 SC runs great. Im a HS Automotive teacher so I looked over the car faily well. The only problem i have come across has been the quitting of the AC clutch and the flashing AC light. I checked the AC pressures and when the clutch is engaged the pressures are great 40 low 200 high cools great. I have read on the ES model forums about the magnetic clutch relay problem. I checked my relay but my relay has a 2010 number instead of the 2022 number. not sure if its this is just a matter of replacing the relay with the new 2098 number. Can anyone help. after reading your forums it sounds like there is a lot of information provided here so thats why i came to your forum. thank you for any support. JB
Old 06-23-09, 10:33 PM
topdog849
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

try replacing your compressor boss, sounds like the clutch died on you. look to see if the compressor pully is spining when a/c is turned on
Old 06-24-09, 05:51 AM
JLB1010
Driver School Candidate

Compressor engages and the AC cools for a about 8 seconds then the AC light starts to blink and the clutch disengages and it stops cooling. If i click the AC switch off and back on it cools again then AC clutch disengages again. freon pressure appear to be ok while i can catch the AC gauges working as the compressor is engaged. I tried to see about a code but the AC/Heater control display is shot so I can't read any codes. I'm working on getting a good working LED display. Any know if there has been issues with the AC clutchs on these cars. or possibly the AC clutch relay all help will be greatly appreciated Thank you JB
Old 06-24-09, 06:24 AM