SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

tire pressure sensors??

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-03, 12:27 PM
hmyles1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tire pressure sensors??

What' s up guys? I have been visiting this forum for several months, but I just became a registered member. I have gotten a lot of useful information from the members of this forum, and I hoping for some advice on a particular issue. I am the owner of a 2003 black/ecru SC430, and I recently purchased a set of custom wheels for my vehicle (Wald Duchatelet II's 19x8.5 front and 19x9.5 rear). Now I am having difficulty finding anyone to install the wheels, because no one knows what to do about the tire pressure sensing system. The service manager of the Lexus dealership even seemed baffled about what to do.

I know that many of the members of this club have gone to custom wheels and non runflat tires without problems. How do I make the conversion? Do you mount the sensors to the new wheels even though the new tires are not run flats? Or do you have someone disconnect the pressure sensing system all together? If the sensors are simply removed with the old wheels, does that cause the warning light to be constantly displayed? Will I then have to go to the Lexus dealer to have the warning light disabled? Please help!
Old 12-11-03, 12:47 PM
DeniskaGS4
Pole Position

Take out the speedo and disable the warning light.. would be my only suggestion.. its a 20 min job.
Old 12-11-03, 03:54 PM
hmyles1
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for your response. I will have to ask you to please excuse my ignorance, but this is the first vehicle I have ever owned with run flats and pressure sensors. What exactly is the "speedo"? Is that the sensor itself? Or is it something else? Is removing the speedo a do-it-yourself project, or is it something that will require a trip to the dealership?
Old 12-11-03, 05:03 PM
Letsride

Received 52 Likes on 46 Posts