SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Stationary SPINNING Wheels for SC 430 (Davin???)

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-04, 06:10 PM
PBEchicago
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Stationary SPINNING Wheels for SC 430 (Davin???)

I am a novice concerning after-market wheels. I am the happy owner of a 2004 Azure Blue Metallic "Pebble Beach Edition" (PBE). The factory wheels match the Sky Blue Metallic color of the PBE.

I have noticed the SPINNING wheels (manufactured by Davin???) on some high-end luxury autos. Invariably, the rides have an African-American driver. Are these spinning wheels essentially "a black thing"? (Not that there's anything wrong with that) I understand that these wheels were popularized by the NBA basketball player, Latrell Sprewell.

Do many regard these wheels as kind of "tacky", albeit expensive, for my beautiful sky blue PBE?

If price was no object, what specific brand, model, finish and type of wheels would you put on my PBE? Any major theft problems with your choice? Unused, the PBE is parked in a secure garage.

I opted for the standard 18 inch (NOT run-flats) tires--Michelin Pilot Sport A/S tires. Unlike the bumpy "run-flats", they provide a serene ride. If I understand correctly, larger size tires/wheels could have an adverse affect on the seamlessly smooth ride. If true, I'll keep the wheels at the standard 18 inches.

Any tips, guys?
Old 11-04-04, 07:31 PM
Ice350
Lexus Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default spinners

I agree that most of the people I see with spinners are Black. However, I was surprised to see a white guy with them on his SUV a couple of days ago. Also, if you look at Plush Magazine, you'll see several people of different races with spinners on their vehicle. I guess that means it's an "anybody can do it thing."