SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Poor Guy About To Splurge (Lots of Questions!)

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-06, 06:53 PM
downscale
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Poor Guy About To Splurge (Lots of Questions!)

This is such a great forum...I've learned so much from reading through the backlog. I look forward to helping out people in future here, once I get my car!

Here's my deal. I've been poor my whole adult life, but after a decade of 15 hour work days 7 days per week in an agonizing slog I never thought would pay off...it paid off. I'm not going beserk spending money, but before I throw most of it into index funds, I do want to do something really nice for myself. I've been driving a 1991 subcompact with lots of problems for the past 12 years (bought it for $4000), but am about to buy a Lexus SC430 as my single bit of reckless irresponsibility!

I see how excited you all are about your convertibles. Believe me....I'm going to be a lot more excited. I hope you can be excited for me! And...answer a few little questions (mostly about this car, but also about expensive cars, generally - something I know nothing about!).

1. I have yet to find a real good way to select a color. The swatches online are hard to go from, and dealers don't usually have a full stock of colors. Can anyone suggest a resource?

2. I like the idea of runflat tires so there's more trunk space, but I also like quiet ride (I"m in NYC, so I'll have top down most of the year) and good handling (though your idea of bad handling and mine are likely very different!). I'm figuring not to get runflats. Question: runflat or not, what's the deal with icy/snowy handling? Do I need two sets of tires?

3. are wheel locks mandatory in NYC? I don't expect to park on street much, but.....