Search this Thread

Old 12-29-08, 06:01 PM
ghfoto
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why all the Run Flat hate???

Hey all...

I'm a newb to this forum.

So I'll introduce myself and start a heated debate, LOL.

I like the Run Flats.

Granted - I hate the costs of them.

But I love how they have that sensor that tells me when I need air - and when the tire is actually flat.

Ok... debate me...

Gene
Old 12-29-08, 06:46 PM
Yes

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

they are rigid. that means you're riding on very little cushion. which means you feel every little bump in the road.
Old 12-29-08, 06:47 PM
CBG
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by ghfoto
Hey all...

I'm a newb to this forum.

So I'll introduce myself and start a heated debate, LOL.

I like the Run Flats.

Granted - I hate the costs of them.

But I love how they have that sensor that tells me when I need air - and when the tire is actually flat.

Ok... debate me...

Gene
Uh the sensor has nothing to do with having runflats. I just bought new rims and regular tires that have the sensors also. I know on mine the sensors are on the rims.
Old 12-29-08, 06:56 PM
Kaydee
Hacked CL to become a Mod

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

they're heavy and rock hard...a no no in terms of ride comfort and performance
Old 12-29-08, 08:02 PM
EJC
Instructor

Received 87 Likes on 61 Posts

Originally Posted by Kaydee
they're heavy and rock hard...a no no in terms of ride comfort and performance
They also like to grab any rut in the road and take off on their own. Not a pleasant situation
Old 12-29-08, 08:21 PM
I8ABMR
Lexus Fanatic

Received 102 Likes on 67 Posts

I test drove my first SC430 over the weekend and didnt seem like the thing was riding like a subway car. It was stiff but in a german kind of way. I would change them out in the future but wouldnt flip out if the used car my brother is looking at can only come with the run flats as part of the deal
Old 12-30-08, 04:57 AM