SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

New wheels. Did I make a mistake? Will Tein CSs still work?

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-09 | 12:19 AM
ERicincal
Driver School Candidate

Default New wheels. Did I make a mistake? Will Tein CSs still work?

So, I finally decided to replace my 18 inch stock wheels and runflats with some new wheels and tires. I have been reading the boards for a while and decided to get the wheels shown below. I am pretty new to changing things on my car, so this is the first time I ever did wheels. I was originally going to get 19s, but read a lot of people regretted getting 19s. 8.5 in the front and 9.5 in the rear. They are wearing 245/35/20 and 285/30/20. Falken FK452 Tires. 2005 SC430.

So the first thing I noticed when I walked up to the car was the way the rims seem to hang over the wheels when looking at them from the rear. The first day I came home, I actually curbed them a tiny bit when I drove up my driveway. Not the curb mind you, but the 2 inch little lip. Granted I approached the curb at an angle.

So the 3 questions I have are:

1. did I buy the wrong size rim? Being that I didnt increase the diameter of the front wheels,perhaps I shouldnt have increased the width of the aftermarket wheels?

2. I was thinking to do the Tein CS coilovers next. Will I be able to lower the car without rubbing with this current wheel setup? How much can I lower without rubbing? 1-1.5 inches?

3. Does the car look silly without being lowered?

Stern ST-1s.

Old 12-31-09 | 04:55 AM
playa3uhh
Lexus Test Driver