SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Detailing a new SC

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-02, 06:23 PM
Robbo
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Detailing a new SC

Well, my car is supposed to be rolling off the boat in Jersey today and should be delivered by early next week. I feel like a kid the week before Xmas--- the wait has been killing me.

I spent some time over at the Autopia site and picked up a lot of really useful info. I decided to go the One Grand Omega/Blitz/Show Off route (rather than Zaino) due to positive web feedback/reviews on how well the OG products work on black cars (I believe GeneArch is a big OG fan).

In any event, I'm new to the whole obsessive-compulsive car care thing and have some questions which I am too intimidated to post over at Autopia.

Do I need to clay the new car?
Do I need to Dawn wash prior to claying?
Do I need to wash with Dawn again after claying but before the OG Omega Glaze?
If I don't need to clay, should I still Dawn wash before the Omega Glaze?
I am having the dealer install Xpel protection-- any issues that creates in the waxing/polishing process?

Thanks.
Old 07-07-02, 06:48 PM
Coldintake
Rookie

Default Re: Detailing a new SC

Originally posted by Robbo
Well, my car is supposed to be rolling off the boat in Jersey today and should be delivered by early next week. I feel like a kid the week before Xmas--- the wait has been killing me.

I spent some time over at the Autopia site and picked up a lot of really useful info. I decided to go the One Grand Omega/Blitz/Show Off route (rather than Zaino) due to positive web feedback/reviews on how well the OG products work on black cars (I believe GeneArch is a big OG fan).

In any event, I'm new to the whole obsessive-compulsive car care thing and have some questions which I am too intimidated to post over at Autopia.

Do I need to clay the new car?
Do I need to Dawn wash prior to claying?
Do I need to wash with Dawn again after claying but before the OG Omega Glaze?