Another New Member

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-14, 08:15 AM
Regent6
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Another New Member

Hello all

I'm new to CL, and have read many posts the last 1 week.
I just bought a 2002 "purple as stated on the car title" SC430 with 151,000 miles.
I'm not afraid of the high mileage
I had the choice of a 104,000 miles 2002, silver color with non working retractable roof.
The silver SC430 also has a rebuilt title with 2006 stock wheels and sitting on Tein springs.
I chose the purple SC430 because of the working retractable roof but more defects and high miles.

No mods but few defects:
Passenger's 6x9 is dead or not there...have not pulled the door panel off yet
Driver's 6x9 is a Kentwood...found out because I put in the car alarm
Both Passenger and Driver power door locks are working but not enough power to lock/unlock
Tire indicator is on in the dash display...has stock "pie plate" rims and regular tires
Only one car key and it is a normal key not the one with lock/unlock buttons
Trunk lifts hydraulic rods dead
Roof makes rattle noises on top of passenger side
Car fogged up on rainy days while parked in the rain
Front struts/shocks are not working...rattle-like noise on pumps

Recent mods:
Did a Royal Purple 5w20 oil change and repair/line up all the plastic under the car
...passenger wheel liner got rubbed and chewed a hole in the front
5303L Avital alarm with auto start...dumb me got the 556U bypass that REQUIRED a spare key
...spent a whole day installing the alarm (will auto start but needs another key which I don't have)
...thanks to an SC430 owner that posted wire location with pictures on the12volt.com
Spent a few hours trying to figured out why the power door locks work but not enough strength
...opened the whole lock mechanism and thinking the relay may not giving the full 12v it needs
...the lock module's (black box) lock/unlock relay may be dying