SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Getting rid of the antenna

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-03 | 06:41 PM
DeniskaGS4
Pole Position

Default Getting rid of the antenna

Anyone know if this can be done. I hate this automatic antenna. My GS did not have this and its annoying. Can I replace my antenna with an s200 antenna.. Anyone want to do the mod and post instruction
Attached Thumbnails Getting rid of the antenna-antena.jpg  
Old 03-14-03 | 06:38 AM
tfischer

I don't know what an S2000 antenna is, but I can only say that I don't find it annoying.

My guess is that the full size exterior antenna, not imbedded in the glass, is needed because the convertible top makes it impossible to imbed one in the rear window. I'm no expert, but I recall that a lot of good radios now use two separate antennae, often one in the front window and one in the rear, and use the stronger signal at all times. I am also guessing that the type and size (the length of the extension changes for AM and FM) is designed to achieve the best reception for the very high quality radio.

I would be annoyed if radio reception were not excellent.

You can also set the system so that the antenna does not extend when playing tapes or CDs, and perhaps that would be less annoying to you.

Or maybe I just have a high threashold of annoyance.
Old 03-14-03 | 07:19 AM
Larry
Lead Lap

I need the antenna to hang my racoon tail from.

Seriously, I think the SC430 antenna looks ok in the up positon. Better than most other cars.
Old 03-14-03 | 11:47 AM
js45
Driver School Candidate

Actually on my new '03 the antenna does not extend when playing CDs or tapes. This must have only been an issue on older models or they have changed the default behavior.
Old 03-14-03 | 05:28 PM
Larry
Lead Lap

Correct-O Gene.
Old 03-15-03 | 07:14 AM
Bobs SC
Driver

Default RDS Button

What exactly does the RDS button do I know when I click on it it brings up like 2 stations .......... I don't understand what this feature does