SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Ideas for new stereo/Nav for 2008 SC430

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-16, 11:06 AM
ccurtin1
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Ideas for new stereo/Nav for 2008 SC430

So I have been researching for a new stereo/Nav for my 2008 SC430 with ML. My thoughts/wants are:

1. I want all the controls on the steering wheel to still work
2. I want the 2 doors to open/close
3. I want a physical *** on the stereo
4. I want it to be Google/Android compatible (I have a paid Google acct for work/pleasure)
5. I want Google maps/waze to work on the top replacement screen
6. I want minimal glare with top down in Florida on both new screens.
7. Bluetooth that loves Samsung S5 and have no problem with songs/big contact list

Maybe a Kenwood with MVA-13L and nice 7" screen up top? Ideas? Thoughts?

Can I do all of the above for $800-1500 or so? Thanks!
Old 11-05-16, 11:31 AM
Bgw70
Lexus Test Driver

Received 904 Likes on 725 Posts

If your installing you could do it all for under $1000.
Old 11-05-16, 04:37 PM
Caflashbob
Instructor

Received 193 Likes on 152 Posts

Good list.

maybe someone else can post here on this but some of things you asked for i did differently.

i retained the ok factory nav system and am able to play videos on the top and bottom screens.

BUT while the mode button cycles the top screen between a playing DVD and the nav system the up and down controls do not work.

When i asked the installer he mentioned cutting up the OEM wiring would be necessary.

glare is a problem. Turned up my dimmer to plus 48 and the screen brightness and contrast to full up plus 24 and you can see the lower screen in direct sunlight. And it's not overly bright at night.

doors and tilt both work.

maybe a way with another box to send a non DVD or media sd signal to the top screen so if you figure it out please let me know.