SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Magnaflow 16917 Exhaust Installation Issue

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-18, 07:55 PM
txsoarer
Driver School Candidate

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Magnaflow 16917 Exhaust Installation Issue fixed. (Sound Review Linked)

Hello, I have finally decided to swap the exhaust for the SC430. This is my first time doing it so please bare with my terminologies and please correct me if I'm wrong. I pulled out the OEM and loosely attach the new exhaust as instructed by the manual. However when I'm about to tighten the Y-Pipe Assembly to the catalytic converter I noticed the walker shape flange is not flushed together I do believe that when I test fit it, it was flushed, I had to go to work and now noticed that it's not flushed anymore. As weird as it sounds I was wondering if anyone has any ideas what I need to do. I have posted pictures below for reference. Thank you for the time.
​​​​​​
Spoiler

Sincerely
txsoarer

Last edited by txsoarer; 09-28-18 at 07:41 AM. Reason: Issue fixed.
Old 09-21-18, 05:32 AM
Bgw70
Lexus Test Driver

Received 904 Likes on 725 Posts

Not sure how you mean flush. Do you want the pipe to slip over the other pipe and the Flanges to touch?
is that what you mean by flush?

i think you need to bolt it together and it will make a tighter connection.

also, are there any gaskets?
i think I see an old one on the catalytic converter, which should be replaced.
Old 09-21-18, 07:09 AM
FlopTop04
Advanced

Received 217 Likes on 105 Posts

I noticed that same issue when I tried to install that "cat-back" Magnaflow part #16917 to my 2004 SC430. I just figured it had to do
with some minor Lexus changes between the early SC430's and the later ( 2006+ ) models.
I went and purchased the Magnaflow Y pipe with the rear cat ( part # 49085 ) figuring that would solve all my problems. While this
took care of your problem, it only added another issue. The exhaust pipe junction between the Y pipe and the cat-back section didn't