SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Ride quality difference between 1st and 2nd gen SC430

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-22, 10:48 AM
Sky1961
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ride quality difference between 1st and 2nd gen SC430

I am new to club Lexus, so please forgive any newbie errors. I am planning to purchase an SC 430 and ride quality is important to me. I understand that, coming out of the factory, the second generation cars offered better ride quality than the first generation. My question: would the right tires (or other changes) bring the first gen up to second gen in terms of ride quality? Or am I just better off focusing on second gen? Thanks in advance for any guidance
Old 12-16-22, 12:48 PM
OBP
Instructor

Received 68 Likes on 54 Posts

I am assuming by ride quality you mean a harder ride vs a softer ride. I believe from my year ( 2005 ) onwards, there was a change in the suspension set up vs earlier years ( 2004 and before ) so my SC rides "softer" than a friend's 2003. But my 2005 has the original non facelifted appearance. The facelift only started in the 2006 MY.

When riding on RFTs I still found my ride too harsh so as many owners here will tell you, switching to regular tires will make a very big difference. Nowadays, some mobility enhanced tires are actually quite OK on ride quality so you could still get around on RFT equivalents and not suffer as much as we did in the early days of RFTs. But I will be sticking with regular tires for the foreseeable future.
The following users liked this post:
mandyfig (12-16-22)
Old 12-16-22, 03:13 PM
mandyfig

Received 416 Likes on 366 Posts

Good advise OBP!
Old 12-16-22, 03:36 PM
Lexicon1
Advanced

Received 74 Likes on 56 Posts