LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Brake actuator repair cost, Why pay $3000?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-19, 11:38 AM
JLAWS
Racer

Received 214 Likes on 163 Posts
Default Brake actuator repair cost, Why pay $3000?

A new oem actuator on EBAY is about $1200 shipped, I even see reman ones from an Ebay vendor from China selling then for $500. So I wonder what labor is involved to replace it? It really just looks like brake lines attach to it, unplug a wiring harness or 2 and the unit on top need to be removed (Pic #1) to get to it. Then put everything back together bleed the brakes and clear the codes. Seems like we are treating this the same as the control arm "issues" and the overblown cost to replace them at the dealership.
Also I see one vendor on Ebay has sold over 50 unit which tells me an indy shop can do the labor. I have a master tech mechanic contact that would probably charge me no more than $300 to $400 tops do the work.
I've been a little paranoid since I've been hearing some faint "squaking sounds" when braking very hard. It has also been cold out. I topped off the brake fluids and don't hear the sound now. I'm just past the 10 year warranty period so I'm looking for non dealer cost alternatives. I wonder if I bring in my own new oem part still in the box and ask the dealer just for the labor cost and see if that is an option.

Last edited by JLAWS; 01-22-19 at 11:55 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Parrokeete (10-31-21)
Old 01-22-19, 09:09 PM
Gjohnson
Driver

Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts

I would love some more information about his as well. I’m subscribed!
Parrokeete (10-31-21)
Old 01-23-19, 03:23 AM
texas008
Advanced

Received 100 Likes on 86 Posts

OEM new brake actuator assembly for 2010 LS460 cost $1071 at Lexus of south Atlanta:
https://www.lexussouthatlantaparts.c...405050110.html
dealer quote for replacement is about $2300.
Old 01-23-19, 07:00 AM
JLAWS
Racer