Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Why is bushings labor so much

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-04, 09:54 AM
jet864
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why is bushings labor so much

I've done my research on bushings and have settled on the Daizen poly set. Now, I've been reading and for example this thread gives a price around $500 just for the install, while this thread says it's only $88 to press in the bushing, with even lower prices further down on the page. What gives?? I know the second link is only LCA, but do UCA take THAT much longer, to indicate a price jump of $400? It just seems kind of ridiculous to me that's all.

James
Old 07-29-04, 03:25 PM
mikeloc24
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

James, I have no experience with the upper control arms. I was only recently concerned with the lower control arms as they were making that clanky sound. A machine shop near me will charge $5 to press in bushings, but keep in mind that's after I've removed the lower control arm already and walked into the shop with the arms in my hand. They don't charge extra to torch out the old bushes because they have to do that before they press in the new ones anyway. That's where my price comes from. Now if you roll your car up to a shop and ask them to remove the lca's for you and remove old bushes and install new ones you will be looking at upwards of $500, but your car should be fixed in a day, that's the benefit. I try to minimize my labor costs by doing most of the work with a buddy I know. And I do it on weekends so that if in the event we can't finish the job in a day's time I'm not out of the car during the work week.
Old 07-29-04, 06:30 PM
EUROJulian
Intermediate

Default Re: Why is bushings labor so much

Originally posted by jet864