Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

H&R Springs - PLEASE READ....

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-01, 12:46 PM
DFox2

Cool

I wanted to close the gap between the stock 17's and the wheel well on my IS300. A local shop recommended H&R Springs that I had installed yesterday. It dropped the front 1.4" and the rear 1.3". I'm not experienced at all when it comes to car mods. The look is what I wanted however the rear wheels aren't perfectly aligned with the road anymore. They slightly bow out at the bottom. The camber is obviously off. The guy at the shop said this is 'normal' when you lower a car, but I can't see how better performance is acheived when the wheels aren't perfectly aligned with the road. Not to mention proper tire wear.

What can I do to fix this? Is there a camber adjustment? Or perhaps an shorter lower a-arm to compensate with the lower ride height?
Old 05-20-01, 02:12 PM
Manaray
Lexus Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Actually, for road/ racing, a little camber is PERFERABLE. 1 to 2 degrees depending on how you like it and the road/track.

And yes, when you lower the car it usually happens.

Unfortunately, I don't have Altezza Hyper Rev book here, so I can't say for sure what kits are out there but usually, you can get an kit that allows you to adjust it a few degrees plus or minus...

Last edited by Manaray; 05-21-01 at 06:35 AM.
Old 05-20-01, 02:52 PM
GS4Will
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have not heard that kind of ex[eroence before. which shop did the install for you in LA?

thanks
Old 05-20-01, 03:47 PM
EmoDragRacer
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

as fara as I knowe there not a camber kit.. on some of the Coilover kit they have some camber adjsutments on the pillow mounts...that is alot of money to invest ..unless you want something more racey and alot stiffer that is up to you
Old 05-20-01, 05:15 PM
VVTIS
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts